Annual Microfinance Conference 2020

We are pleased to announce that Pakistan Microfinance Network is hosting its fourth edition of the Annual Microfinance Conference (AMC-4) on the theme “Sustaining Resilience; Microfinance in a Post Pandemic Era” on November 25th and 26th, 2020 at Serena Hotel, Islamabad Pakistan.

The primary objective of this conference is to cultivate a concrete policy with the help of all the regulators, stakeholders and the microfinance sector thinktanks to deal and handle natural calamities (including pandemics), as well as financial & economic disasters. Also, to identify the possible hurdles that exist in the microfinance industry that can hinder the process of growth and to propose ideas to overcome them.

Another purpose of this event is to provide a platform to all stakeholders such as microfinance providers, financial service providers (like banks, digital financial service providers, fintechs) insurance companies, donor agencies, policy makers, regulators, development agencies and government authorities to discuss the ways to broaden the horizons of the microfinance industry.


Day 1
10:00am - 11:30amOpening Session
  • Welcome Address by Mr. Ghalib Nishtar, Chairman – Pakistan Microfinance Network (PMN)
  • Address by Mr. Yasir Ashfaq, Chief Executive Officer - Pakistan Microfinance Investment Company (PMIC)
  • Address by Ms. Gillian Rogers, Senior Private Sector Adviser & Team Leader- Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) Pakistan
  • Address by Mr. Zubyr Soomro, Chairman - National Bank of Pakistan (NBP)
  • Address by Dr. Shamshad Akhtar, Chairperson -Karandaaz Pakistan
  • Address by Ms. Sima Kamil, Deputy Governor - State Bank of Pakistan (SBP)
  • Keynote address by the Guest of Honor Dr. Abdul Hafeez Shaikh, Advisor to Prime Minister on Finance & Revenue
11:30am - 11:45amLaunch & Signing Ceremonies
  • Signing Ceremony with PMIC
  • Launch Ceremony of Digital Services Platform
  • MoU signing with 1-Link
11:45am - 12:00pmMorning Brew
12:00pm - 1:15pmPlenary Session I: Policy Dialogue

Session Chair: Mr. Waqas ul Hassan, Senior Private & Financial Sector Advisor, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) Pakistan


  • Ms. Sima Kamil, Deputy Governor-State Bank of Pakistan (SBP)
  • Mr. Farrukh Sabzwari, Commissioner-Securities & Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP)
  • Mr. Amir Masood Khan, Chief Executive Officer & President - The First Microfinance Bank Ltd. (FMFB)
  • Ms. Roshaneh Zafar, Managing Director & Founder - Kashf Foundation
  • Mr. Yasir Ashfaq, Chief Executive Officer-Pakistan Microfinance Investment Company (PMIC)
  • Mr. Kabeer Naqvi, President & Chief Executive Officer- UBank
  • Mr. Ramesh Singh Arora, Advisor Mojaz Support Program
1:15pm - 2:15pmLUNCH
2:15pm - 3:30pmPlenary Session II: Microfinance & Low-Cost Housing

Mr. Zafar Masud, President & Chief Executive Officer- The Bank of Punjab (BOP) to share his vision on Housing Finance

Session Chair: Mr. Ali Khizer Aslam, Head of Research, Business Recorder


  • Lieutenant General Anwar Ali Hyder, HI(M)(Retd), Chairman Naya Pakistan Housing & Development Authority (NAPHDA)*
  • Mr. Mudassir H. Khan, Managing Director/ Chief Executive Officer-Pakistan Mortgage Refinance Company Limited.
  • Ms. Namoos Zaheer, Senior Financial Sector Specialist - FCI World Bank
  • Syed Asghar Hussain, Head – Strategy & New Projects – FINCA Microfinance Bank
  • Dr. Muhammad Amjad Saqib, Executive Director-Akhuwat
  • Mr. Barak Ullah, Chief Executive Officer-Agahe Support Program
  • Ms. Mariam Pervaiz, Chief of Corporate Banking- UBank
3:30pm - 4:00pmEvening Brew
4:00pm - 5:15pmPlenary Session III: Financial Inclusion in Economically Deprived Areas & Socio-Economic Segments

Session Chair: Mr. Ghazanfar Azzam, President & Chief Executive Officer - Mobilink Microfinance Bank


  • Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP) Representative*
  • Mr. Qazi Azmat Isa, Chief Executive Officer-Pakistan Poverty Alleviation Fund (PPAF)
  • Ms. Ayesha Gulzar, Chairperson- Rural Community Development Programmes (RCDP)
  • Mr. Muhammad Dittal Kalhoro, Chief Executive Officer - Sindh Rural Support Organization (SRSO)
  • Mr. Mumtaz Hussain Syed, Chief Executive Officer – Aequitas Information Services Limited- Tasdeeq
5:15pm - 6:00pmFire Side Chat on Global Perspective to Microfinance due to COVID-19
Mr. Mudassir Aqil, President & Chief Executive Officer Telenor Microfinance Bank to converse with Mr. Stephen Rasmussen, Lead, Digital Rails, CGAP

* Subject to confirmation

Day 2
9:30am - 10:15amA Conversation Between Two Microfinance Luminaries from Pakistan & India
  • Dr. Rashid Bajwa, Chief Executive Officer – National Rural Support Program & Mr. Alok Prasad, Adviser, Mentor & Board Member to Engage in a Discussion on similarities and Differences in the Evolution of Microfinance and Financial Inclusion in the Two Countries
10:15am - 10:45amMorning Brew
10:45am - 12:00pmPlenary Session IV: COVID-19; A Catalyst for Digital Finance

Session Chair: Mr. Ali Sarfaraz, Chief Executive Officer-Karandaaz Pakistan


  • Mr. Omer Moeen Malik, Head of Digital Wallets & Payments - Telenor Micro Finance Bank Limited
  • Mr. Shahzad Shahid, Chief Executive Officer-TPS
  • Mr. Tariq Nasim Jan, Chief Executive Officer – DataCheck (Pvt) Ltd.*
  • Ms. Ambreen Malik, Chief of Retail Sales and Digitization-UBank
  • Dr. Sono Khangharani, Chief Executive Officer- Thardeep Microfinance Foundation
12:00pm - 1:00pmPlenary Session V: Promoting Funding Resilience for MFP’s

Scene Setting: Mr. Shahzad Saleem, Chief Executive Officer – The Pakistan Credit Rating Agency Limited (PACRA)

Session Chair: Mr. Farrukh H. Khan, Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director-Pakistan Stock Exchange


  • Syed Sajjad Ali Shah, Managing Director Safco Support Program
  • Mr. Shahzad Iqbal, Chief Financial Officer-Kashf Foundation
  • Mr. Rizwan Sheikh, Head of Corporate Finance & Investment Banking-Pakistan Microfinance Investment Company
  • NBP Rep
  • Mr. Aqeel Ahmad Zeeshan, Additional Director-Securities & Exchange Commission Pakistan*
1:00pm - 2:00pmLUNCH
2:00pm - 3:00pmPlenary Session VII: Making Microfinance Resilient: Putting in Place a Disaster Risk Fund

Session Chair: Mr. Ghalib Nishtar, Chairman – Pakistan Microfinance Network

Panel Discussion:

  • Lieutenant General Nadeem Ahmed (Retired), Chief Executive Officer-National Disaster Risk Management Fund*
  • World Bank Rep
  • Mr. Noor Ahmed, Director AC & MFD’s, State Bank of Pakistan (SBP)*
  • Syed Nayyar Hussain, Director- Securities & Exchange Commission Pakistan (SECP)
  • ADB Rep
  • Mr. Mohammad Ali Ahmed, Executive Director – EFU Life
3:00pmWrapping Up
  • Closing remarks by Ms. Sadaffe Abid, Vice Chairperson-Pakistan Microfinance Network*
  • Closing address by Dr. Ishrat Hussain, Advisor to the Prime Minister on Institutional Reforms and Austerity
  • Vote of Thanks by Syed Mohsin Ahmed, Chief Executive Officer-Pakistan Microfinance Network, Conference Sponsors/Hosts

* Subject to confirmation